Selecting a language will automatically trigger the translation of the page content.

Can a new application for asylum be made after a refusal?

Verified 29 October 2019 - Directorate for Legal and Administrative Information (Prime Minister)

If your asylum application has been rejected, you can request a review atOfpra: titleContent.. You must first make a new application for registration in the prefecture. To be admissible, your request for reconsideration must meet certain conditions. If rejected again by Ofpra, you can enter the CNDA: titleContent..

In order for your request for review to be admissible, you must present new evidence to justify your fears in the event of your return to your country.

These facts must be after the decision of rejection of your 1st asylum application..

To request a review of your asylum application by theOfpra: titleContent, you must first make a new application to the prefecture of your department.

This request is treated as a first request and registration must be made within 3 days.

You should contact the prefecture on which your department of residence depends..

Prefects competent to register asylum applications (in mainland France):



Competent Prefecture


Allier (03), Cantal (15), Haute-Loire (43), Puy-de-Dôme (63)

Clermont-Ferrand Prefecture (63)

Ain (01), Ardèche (07), Loire (42), Rhône (69)

Lyon Prefecture (69)

Drôme (26), Isère (38), Haute-Savoie (74), Savoie (73)

Grenoble Prefecture (38)


Côte-d'Or (21), Nièvre (58), Yonne (89)

Dijon Prefecture (21)

Doubs (25), Jura (39), Haute-Saône (70), Belfort Territory (90)

Besançon Prefecture (25)

Saône-et-Loire (71)

Macon Prefecture (71)


Ille-et-Vilaine (35), Côtes-d'Armor (22), Finistère (29), Morbihan (56)

Prefecture of Rennes (35)

Center-Loire Valley

Cher (18), Eure-et-Loir (28), Indre (36), Indre-et-Loire (37), Loir-et-Cher (41), Loiret (45)

Orleans Prefecture (45)


Upper Corsica (2B), South Corsica (2A)

Marseille Prefecture (13)


Ardennes (08), Aube (10), Marne (51) Haute-Marne (52),

Chalons-en-Champagne Prefecture (51)

Meurthe-et-Moselle (54) Meuse (55) Moselle (57), Vosges (88)

Metz Prefecture (57)

Bas Rhin (67)

Strasbourg Prefecture (67)

Upper Rhine (68)

Colmar Prefecture (68)


Nord (59), Pas-de-Calais (62)

Lille Prefecture (59)

Aisne (02), Oise (60), Sum (80)

Beauvais Prefecture (60)

Island of France

Paris (75)

Paris Police Prefecture

Seine-et-Marne (77)

Melun Prefecture (77)

Yvelines (78)

Prefecture of Versailles (78)

Essonne (91)

Evry Prefecture (91)

Hauts-de-Seine (92)

Nanterre Prefecture (92)

Seine-Saint-Denis (93)

Bobigny Prefecture (93)

Val-de-Marne (94)

Creteil Prefecture (94)

Val-d'Oise (95)

Cergy-Pontoise Prefecture (95)


Calvados (14), English Channel (50), Orne (61)

Caen Prefecture (50)

Seine-Maritime (76), Eure (27)

Rouen Prefecture (76)

Nouvelle Aquitaine

Vienna (86), Charente (16), Charente-Maritime (17), Deux-Sèvres (79)

Poitiers Prefecture (86)

Dordogne (24), Gironde (33), Landes (40), Lot-et-Garonne (47), Pyrénées-Atlantiques (64)

Bordeaux Prefecture (33)

Corrèze (19), Creuse (23), Haute-Vienne (87)

Limoges Prefecture (87)


Haute-Garonne (31), Ariège (09), Aveyron (12), Gers (32), Hautes-Pyrénées (65), Lot (46), Tarn (81), Tarn-et-Garonne (82)

Toulouse Prefecture (31)

Aude (11), Gard (30), Hérault (34), Lozère (48), Pyrénées-Orientales (66)

Montpellier Prefecture (34)

Pays de Loire

Loire-Atlantique (44), Mayenne (53), Vendée (85)

Nantes Prefecture (44)

Maine-et-Loire (49), Sarthe (72)

Angers Prefecture (49)

Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur (Paca)

Alpes-Maritimes (06), Var (83)

Prefecture of Nice (06)

Alpes-de-Haute-Provence (04), Bouches-du-Rhône (13), Hautes-Alpes (05), Vaucluse (84).

Marseille Prefecture (13)


search for the competent prefecture, which is not necessarily the one in your department.

Your request for reconsideration is processed under an expedited procedure.

You 8 days from the registration of your new application, to send your complete reconsideration request to the Ofpra.

You can:

  • send it by mail (preferably by registered mail with acknowledgement of receipt),
  • or drop it directly at the reception of the Ofpra (if you live in Paris or in the Paris region).

Who shall I contact

Ofpra has 7 days to decide on the admissibility of your application. If he decides to continue examining your application, he informs the prefect and you receive a certificate of asylum application valid provisional residence permit (APS) with a validity period of one month that can be renewed for 6 months.

Répondez aux questions successives et les réponses s’afficheront automatiquement

Positive decision

Ofpra may accept the request for review. You are then placed under his protection and summoned to the prefecture to receive: 

Negative decision

Ofpra may reject your request for reconsideration in the absence of new or non-evidentiary elements.

You are informed by registered letter with acknowledgement of receipt. The reason for the decision is given to you in a language you are supposed to understand.

You may appeal against this refusal to the National Court of Asylum (CNDA).. You have one month after notification the decision of the Ofpra to file it.