Selecting a language will automatically trigger the translation of the page content.

Corporate Domiciliation

Verified 20 août 2018 - Directorate of Legal and Administrative Information (Prime Minister), Ministry of Justice

The company's domicile corresponds to its administrative address (head office) and must be declared at the company's formalities center. Registration at RCS or in the business directory (RM) requires to have a domicile. The use of the premises declared as registered office must be justifiable. Without domiciliation, registration is refused. The address of the business premises must appear on the commercial documents (quotes, invoices, etc.).

Individual company

The company's domicile may be in the creator's personal dwelling-place and does not always require a commercial premises.

The individual entrepreneur (trader, craftsman, self-entrepreneur...) can live in his home address.

In principle, even if the premises are used for a specific purpose (residential or professional activity), the contractors may carry out their activities at home, but only if the lease or the condominium regulation does not prevent them. This includes checking the planning rules, the clauses of the housing lease or the condominium rules.

The creator must also notify the lessor or the condominium trustee that he will use his home to house his business before its registration.

The only restrictions are in cities with more than 200,000 inhabitants and in the departments of Hauts-de-Seine, Seine-Saint-Denis and Val-de-Marne, where the premises must be the main residence of the entrepreneur and the activity must be carried out exclusively by its occupants, without receiving customers or goods.

In case of professional activity at home, it is recommended to subscribe to an extension of the "home" insurance contract or a new professional contract. Indeed, customers can get injured, professional equipment can be destroyed or stolen, stock can be deteriorated...

Company

For a company, it is also possible to establish the domicile at the home of its legal representative, but only at the home of the director (CEO or manager for example), and in no case at that of a partner.

If a contractual or legislative provision precludes the domiciliation of the head office of a legal person at the home of its director, such domiciliation shall remain possible for a maximum period of 5 years.

The officer shall:

  • notify the lessor or condominium syndicate of his intention in writing prior to the application for registration with the company's RCS;
  • declare to the Registry his new address before the expiry of the 5 years, under penalty of automatic cancelation of the RCS.

  Warning : home ownership does not, however, allow the exercise of the activity, the receipt of goods or customers, and does not entail any change in the allocation of premises or the application of the status of commercial leases.

There is no particular formalism of the model of certification of the domicile of a company to be complied with.

The certificate must contain certain mandatory particulars:

  • Names, forenames and address of the director
  • Name and legal form of the company
  • Company address
  • Owner Contact Information

The entrepreneur (company or individual entrepreneur) has the possibility to use the services of a specialized company of domiciliation, approved by the prefect of the department (or the prefect of police in Paris) and registered to the RCS.

When applying for registration with the RCS, the business creator (the domiciled), who installs the head office of his business in premises which he will occupy in common with one or more enterprises, must present the contract of domicile concluded with the owner or the holder of the lease of these premises (the domiciled).

This contract is obligatorily written, of a minimum duration of 3 months, renewable by tacit extension, unless notice of termination.

The contract of domiciliation must be mentioned in the RCS of the domiciled, with the name or the corporate name and the references of the registration of the domiciled undertaking.

The activity of domiciliation may not be carried out in a room for main residential use or for mixed professional use.

A company may also be domiciled on the premises of another company (if it is a company and its subsidiaries, a domiciliation contract is not mandatory). However, if it does not own the premises, it must obtain the written consent of the lessor before registration.

The domiciliary must make available to the domiciliary premises equipped with a room allowing the necessary confidentiality and the regular meeting of the management, administration or supervisory bodies of the undertaking, as well as the preservation and consultation of the administrative documents.

Joining a company nursery, in premises occupied jointly by several companies, allows the creator to be accompanied by specialists, to enjoy shared facilities and services, for example, secretarial services, meeting and reception areas.

The space provided is generally adapted to the size of an emerging company and the cost is moderate.

A company can be domiciled in a space dedicated to its activity, whether it is owner or tenant.

However, in order to be able to carry out an activity there, it must be verified that there are no legislative or contractual provisions against it (for example, planning rules or lease clauses).

Fiche pratique

Domiciliation d'une entreprise

Vérifié le 28 juillet 2016 - Direction de l'information légale et administrative (Premier ministre), Ministère en charge de la justice

La domiciliation de l'entreprise correspond à son adresse administrative (siège social) et doit être déclarée au centre de formalités des entreprises. L'immatriculation au RCS ou au répertoire des métiers (RM) impose d'avoir une domiciliation. La jouissance du local déclaré comme siège social doit pouvoir être justifiée. Sans domiciliation, l'immatriculation est refusée. L'adresse des locaux professionnels doit figurer sur les documents commerciaux (devis, factures, etc.).

Entreprise individuelle

La domiciliation de l'entreprise peut se faire dans le local d'habitation personnel du créateur et ne nécessite pas systématiquement de disposer d'un local commercial.

L'entrepreneur individuel (commerçant, artisan, auto-entrepreneur...) peut domicilier son activité à l'adresse de son domicile personnel.

En principe, même si les locaux sont affectés à un usage précis (habitation ou activité professionnelle), les entrepreneurs peuvent exercer leur activité à domicile, mais seulement si le bail ou le règlement de copropriété ne s'y oppose pas.

Dans tous les cas, il faut donc vérifier qu'aucune disposition réglementaire ou contractuelle ne s'y oppose (règles d'urbanisme, clauses du bail d'habitation, ou règlement de copropriété par exemple).

Le créateur doit également notifier au bailleur ou au syndic de copropriété qu'il va utiliser son domicile personnel pour héberger son entreprise avant son immatriculation.

Les seules restrictions concernent les villes de plus de 200 000 habitants et les départements des Hauts-de-Seine, de la Seine-Saint-Denis et du Val-de-Marne, où le local doit être la résidence principale de l'entrepreneur et l'activité doit être exercée exclusivement par ses occupants, sans réception de clientèle ni de marchandises.

En cas d'exercice de l'activité professionnelle au domicile, il est recommandé de souscrire une extension du contrat d'assurance "habitation" ou un nouveau contrat professionnel. En effet, des clients peuvent se blesser, du matériel professionnel peut être détruit ou volé, le stock peut être détérioré...

Société

Pour une société, il est également possible d'établir la domiciliation au domicile de son représentant légal, mais seulement au domicile du dirigeant (PDG ou gérant par exemple), et en aucun cas à celui d'un associé.

Si une disposition contractuelle ou législative s'oppose à la domiciliation du siège social d'une personne morale au domicile de son dirigeant, cette domiciliation reste possible, mais pour une durée maximale de 5 ans.

Si le dirigeant souhaite utiliser cette possibilité, il doit, avant la demande ou la modification de l'immatriculation au RCS de la société, notifier son intention par écrit au bailleur, au syndicat de la copropriété ou au représentant de l'ensemble immobilier.

  Attention :

la domiciliation au domicile personnel n'autorise pas pour autant l'exercice de l'activité, la réception de marchandises ou de clients, et n'entraîne ni changement d'affectation des locaux, ni application du statut des baux commerciaux.

L'entrepreneur (société ou entrepreneur individuel) a la possibilité d'utiliser les services d'une société spécialisée de domiciliation, agréée par le préfet du département (ou le préfet de police à Paris) et immatriculée au RCS.

Lors de sa demande d'immatriculation au RCS , le créateur d'entreprise (le domicilié), qui installe le siège de son entreprise dans des locaux qu'elle occupera en commun avec une ou plusieurs entreprises, doit présenter le contrat de domiciliation conclu avec le propriétaire ou le titulaire du bail de ces locaux (le domiciliataire).

Ce contrat est obligatoirement écrit, d'une durée minimale de 3 mois, renouvelable par tacite reconduction, sauf préavis de résiliation.

Le contrat de domiciliation doit être mentionné au RCS du domicilié, avec l'indication du nom ou de la dénomination sociale et des références de l'immatriculation de l'entreprise domiciliataire.

L'activité de domiciliation ne peut être exercée dans un local à usage d'habitation principale ou à usage mixte professionnel.

Une société peut également se faire domicilier dans les locaux d'une autre entreprise (s'il s'agit d'une société et de ses filiales, un contrat de domiciliation n'est pas obligatoire). Mais si celle-ci n'est pas propriétaire des locaux, il faut qu'elle obtienne l'accord écrit du bailleur avant l'immatriculation.

Le domiciliataire doit mettre à la disposition du domicilié des locaux dotés d'une pièce permettant la confidentialité nécessaire et la réunion régulière des organes de direction, d'administration ou de surveillance de l'entreprise, ainsi que la conservation et la consultation des documents administratifs.

Rejoindre une pépinière d'entreprise, dans des locaux occupés en commun par plusieurs entreprises, permet au créateur d'être accompagné par des spécialistes, de profiter d'équipements et de services mutualisés, par exemple, des services de secrétariat, des espaces de réunion et de réception.

Les locaux mis à disposition sont généralement adaptées à la taille d'une entreprise naissante et le coût est modéré.

Une entreprise peut être domiciliée dans un local dédié à son activité, qu'elle en soit propriétaire ou locataire.

Il faut cependant vérifier, pour pouvoir y exercer une activité, qu'aucune disposition législative ou contractuelle ne s'y oppose (règles d'urbanisme ou clauses du bail par exemple).