Selecting a language will automatically trigger the translation of the page content.

Can a contract for the provision of services be terminated with tacit extension?

Verified 03 October 2019 - Directorate for Legal and Administrative Information (Prime Minister), Directorate-General for Competition, Consumption and Fraud Prevention (DGCCRF)

Yes, contracts for the provision of services with tacit renewal (e.g., membership in a sports club) may be terminated within the time limit specified in the contract. Your service provider must regularly inform you in writing (letter or e-mail) of your right not to renew your contract. Without any information from him, you can terminate the contract immediately and free of charge by registered mail with acknowledgement of receipt.

A contract with tacit renewal is automatically renewed without action on your part. You do not have to make any requests to continue to benefit from the service you purchased when you signed the contract.

The contract shall be renewed regularly for a specific period: every month, every 3 months or every year for example.

The date of departure is the date of signature of your contract. For example, if your contract was signed on October 15th and provides for a monthly renewal, it will be renewed every 15th of the month.

The tacit renewal contracts shall be used in particular:

  • for a subscription to a sports club
  • or for regular delivery of type products box for example.

Please note

specific rules apply for insurance contracts, mutual funds or pension funds, telephone or internet..

Your contract must set a notice period to request termination: for example, before the 10th of each month for a monthly renewal on the 15th.

In addition, the service provider must regularly inform you in writing (letter or e-mail) of your right not to renew your contract. They must do so no earlier than 3 months and no later than 1 month before the end of each notice period. This information must be provided in clear and understandable terms. It must indicate, in an apparent box included in the letter or e-mail, the deadline for non-renewal.

This information must be issued to you at each renewal of the contract. For example, if your contract is renewed automatically every month, your provider must send you such a letter or e-mail every month.

The provisions of Articles L215-1 to L215-3 and L241-3 of the Consumer Code must also appear on the contract.

You are therefore informed twice about the possibility of terminating the contract:

  • when it was drafted,
  • and then each renewal.

Warning  

for distance financial services contracts, disclosure obligations apply only to the original contract. The contract is automatically continued if you or the professional have not expressed the will to terminate it.

You can also request an immediate termination of your contract without waiting for the automatic renewal date:

  • or for a reason specified in the contract (removal, unemployment....)
  • because you feel that the claimant is not performing his benefits properly.

The terms of termination must be stated in the contract. For example, by registered letter with acknowledgement of receipt. You don't need to give a reason. You must respect the notice specified in the contract.

If you request cancelation, your contract will end on the automatic renewal date. You will not be able to benefit from the service from this date. You must pay to the claimant the fees due up to the end date of your contract, regardless of the date on which you requested the termination.

Warning  

some contracts provide for a minimum term of service. Charges may be added if you do not meet this commitment period.

If the service provider has not provided you with the required renewal date information, you may terminate the contract immediately and free of charge by registered mail with acknowledgement of receipt.

Within 30 days, the provider must then refund you for the fees already paid for the period from the termination date to the next automatic renewal date. For example, if your contract is renewed every 15th of the month and you requested termination on the 1stto of the month, your provider must reimburse you for the period of 1to 15. In the event of non-reimbursement within the deadlines, the sums due shall be increased by legal interest rate..

Question-réponse

Peut-on résilier un contrat à tacite reconduction ?

Vérifié le 17 août 2018 - Direction de l'information légale et administrative (Premier ministre), Direction générale de la concurrence, de la consommation et de la répression des fraudes (DGCCRF)

Oui, les contrats à tacite reconduction peuvent être rompus en respectant le délai prévu au contrat. Votre prestataire doit vous informer régulièrement d'une telle possibilité.

Un contrat à tacite reconduction est renouvelé automatiquement sans action de votre part. Vous n'avez aucune demande à faire pour continuer à bénéficier du service auquel vous avez souscrit lors de la signature du contrat.

Le contrat est reconduit régulièrement pour une période précise : tous les mois, tous les 3 mois ou tous les ans par exemple. La date de départ est celle de signature de votre contrat. Par exemple, si votre contrat à été signé le 15 octobre et prévoit un renouvellement mensuel, il sera reconduit tous les 15 du mois.

Les contrats à tacite reconduction sont notamment utilisés

  • pour un abonnement à un club de sport
  • ou pour une livraison régulière de produits de type box par exemple.

  Attention :

des règles spécifiques s'appliquent pour les contrats d'assurance, mutuelles ou organismes de prévoyance, de téléphone ou internet.

Votre contrat doit fixer une période de préavis pour demander une résiliation : par exemple, avant le 10 de chaque mois pour un renouvellement mensuel le 15.

De plus, le prestataire doit vous informer régulièrement par écrit (lettre ou courrier électronique) de votre droit à ne pas renouveler votre contrat. Il doit le faire au plus tôt 3 mois et au plus tard 1 mois avant la fin de chaque période de préavis. Cette information, délivrée dans des termes clairs et compréhensibles, mentionne, dans un encadré apparent inclus dans la lettre ou le courriel, la date limite de non-reconduction.

Ces informations doivent vous être délivrées à chaque renouvellement du contrat. Par exemple, si votre contrat se renouvelle automatiquement tous les mois, votre prestataire doit vous envoyer un tel courrier ou mail tous les mois.

Les dispositions des articles L215-1 à L215-3 et L241-3 du code de la consommation doivent également figurer sur le contrat.

Vous êtes donc informé 2 fois de la possibilité de mettre fin au contrat :

  • lors de sa rédaction,
  • et ensuite à chaque renouvellement.

  Attention :

pour les contrats de service financier conclus à distance, les obligations d'information ne s'appliquent qu'au contrat initial. Le contrat est automatiquement poursuivi si le professionnel ou vous même n'avez pas manifesté la volonté d'y mettre fin.

Vous pouvez aussi demander l'arrêt immédiat de votre contrat sans attendre la date de renouvellement automatique, soit pour un motif prévu au contrat (déménagement, chômage....), soit parce que vous estimez que le prestataire n'exécute pas ses prestations correctement.

Les conditions de résiliation doivent être indiquées dans le contrat. Par exemple, par lettre recommandée avec accusé de réception. Vous n'avez pas besoin de donner un motif. Vous devez respecter le préavis fixé par le contrat.

Si vous demandez la résiliation, votre contrat s'arrête dès la date de renouvellement automatique. Vous ne pouvez alors plus bénéficier du service à partir de cette date. Vous devez payer au prestataire les frais dus jusqu'à la date de fin de votre contrat, et ce que quelle que soit la date à laquelle vous avez demandé la résiliation.

  Attention :

certains contrats prévoient une durée d'engagement minimale. Des frais peuvent s'ajouter si vous ne respectez pas cette période d'engagement.

Si le prestataire ne vous a pas délivré les informations obligatoires sur la date de renouvellement, vous pouvez mettre fin immédiatement et gratuitement au contrat par courrier recommandé avec accusé de réception.

Dans un délai de 30 jours, le prestataire doit alors vous rembourser pour les frais déjà versés pour la période allant de la date de résiliation à la prochaine date de renouvellement automatique. Par exemple, si votre contrat se renouvelle chaque 15 du mois et que vous avez demandé la résiliation le 1er du mois, votre prestataire doit vous rembourser les frais correspondant à la période du 1er au 15. En cas de non-remboursement dans les délais, les sommes dues sont augmentées du taux d'intérêt légal.