Selecting a language will automatically trigger the translation of the page content.

Combating air pollution

Low-emission mobility zones (m-EPZs): 11 metropolises affected in 2023

Publié le 11 août 2023 - Legal and Administrative Information Directorate (Prime Minister)

Crédits : Ricochet64 -

Currently, 11 metropolises have set up a low-mobility emission zone (m-EPZ): Grand Paris, Lyon, Aix-Marseille, Toulouse, Nice, Montpellier, Strasbourg, Grenoble, Rouen, Reims and Saint-Etienne. In these areas, the circulation of the most polluting vehicles may be limited and the conversion premium may be increased. By 2025, the 43 agglomerations with more than 150,000 inhabitants will have to establish an m-EPZ.

In order to circulate in territories with low-emission mobility zones (m-EPZs), an air quality certificate is required. In these areas, the most polluting vehicles identified by the Crit'Air vignettes may also be subject to traffic restrictions where the prefect introduces differentiated traffic during pollution peaks. These restrictions may apply over specific time periods. Local and regional authorities are free to lay down stricter rules.

In addition, the establishment of an m-EPZ is accompanied by a supplement to the conversion premium when buying or renting a low-emission vehicle if, at the same time, you scrap an old diesel or gasoline vehicle. Since June 2020, you have been eligible for a surcharge if you live or work in an m-EPZ and your territorial community has provided you with assistance to purchase or lease a clean vehicle. The amount of the additional premium is the same as the aid paid by the local authority, up to a maximum of € 1 000.

You can view the video What is an M-EPZ?

  Reminder : The m-EPZ replaced the Restricted Movement Zone (RCA).

Crédits : © Ministry of Ecological Transition

New measures to tackle air pollution

On 1er The Ministerial Committee on Low-Emission Mobility Zones (m-EPZs), held on 25 October 2022, announced new measures to address air pollution in urban areas:

  • Developing low-emission mobility zones: by 2025, 32 additional m-EPZs will be created in agglomerations with more than 150 000 inhabitants.
  • Reducing air pollution in port areas by launching experiments with voluntary communities.
  • Accompany communities in the deployment of m-EPZs: gradual introduction of automated sanction control; appointment of a single contact point for agglomerations, in charge of m-EPZs; use of the “green fund” for financing and payment of the proceeds of fines to communities.
  • Accompany households to acquire cleaner vehicles: conversion premium increased by €1 000 when the beneficiary lives or works in an m-EPZ; a zero-interest loan will be offered, starting on 1 er January 2023, for two years of experimentation in metropolises exceeding the thresholds; the ecological bonus will increase to €7,000 for households with the lowest incomes.

Monday, July 10, 2023 was held on the 2nde ministerial committee during which the minister made a semantic clarification that distinguishes EPZ territories and vigilance territories. There are therefore two types of territories whose names are now different in order to highlight their situation and the associated level of constraint: those that respect the thresholds and those that do not:

  1. Agglomerations that regularly exceed regulatory air quality thresholds are effective EPZ territories: they must comply with the legislative timetable of restrictions leading to restrictions for diesel cars over 18 years of age on 1 January 2024 (Crit’Air 4), and then for diesel cars over 14 years of age and petrol cars over 19 years of age on 1 January 2025 (Crit’Air 3). As a result of the improvement in air quality, the agglomerations concerned are constantly decreasing year after year: there are now five (Paris, Lyon, Marseille, Rouen, Strasbourg).
  2. The agglomerations which respect regulatory quality thresholds de facto, air is territory vigilance:
    • For agglomerations which have not yet introduced rules (31 agglomerations concerned): the only obligation laid down by law is the restriction on the movement of cars registered until 31 December 1996 (not classified) before 1 January 2025.
    • For agglomerations in which EPZs exist (6 agglomerations concerned): they have all at least put in place the minimum restrictions laid down by law. As a result, they no longer have any obligation to tighten their current restrictions.


Découvrir la collection Doc en poche