Selecting a language will automatically trigger the translation of the page content.

What is the Aggir grid?

Verified 13 February 2020 - Directorate of Legal and Administrative Information (Prime Minister), National Solidarity Fund for Autonomy (CNSA)

The Aggir national grid (Autonomy Gérontologie Groupe Iso Ressources) allows to measure the degree of loss of autonomy of the applicant of the personalized autonomy allowance (Apa). It is used to determine whether the applicant is entitled to the Apa and, if so, the level of assistance he needs. Degrees of loss of autonomy are classified in 6 iso-resource groups (Gir). Each Gir corresponds to a level of need for help in carrying out the essential acts of daily life.

The Aggir grid is used as part of an application Custom Autonomy Allocation (Apa)..

It measures the capacity of the elderly person to:

  • 10 bodily and mental activities discriminatory activities,
  • and 7 domestic and social activities illustrative activities..

Only 10 discriminatory activities are used to determine the iso-resource group (Gir) to which the elderly person is responsible.

7 illustrative activities are intended to provide additional information to the assessor to better understand the person's overall situation.

The Aggir grid is integrated into an evaluation framework that collects all the information needed to develop the elderly's assistance plan.

Video: How is autonomy assessed?

Credits :, site of the National Solidarity Fund for Autonomy (CNSA)

Physical and mental activities (so-called "discriminating")

  • To communicate verbally and/or non-verbally, to act and behave in a logical and sensible way in relation to the standards accepted by society
  • Find your way in space and time
  • Make toilet
  • Dress, undress
  • Serving and eating
  • Ensuring hygiene of urinary and fecal elimination
  • Stand up, lie down, sit down, move from one of these 3 positions to another
  • Move within the living space
  • Move outside the living area
  • Use a means of remote communication (telephone, alarm, bell, etc.) to alert when needed

Domestic and social activities (so-called "illustrative")

  • Prepare meals and package them so they can be served
  • Manage your business, budget and assets, recognize the monetary value of coins and notes, use money and know the value of things, perform administrative procedures, fill out forms
  • Perform all routine household work
  • Use a collective or individual means of transport voluntarily
  • Voluntary purchase of goods
  • Respect the doctor's prescription and manage his treatment yourself
  • Volunteer, alone or in a group, various leisure activities

Depending on the degree of loss of independence, the elderly person is classified in a iso-resource group (Gir).

There are 6 Gir:

Meaning of the Gir to which the person is attached

Gir: titleContent

Degrees of dependence

Gir 1

- Person confined to bed or chair, whose mental functions are seriously impaired and who requires an indispensable and continuous presence of speakers

- or person at the end of his life

Gir 2

- Person confined to bed or chair, whose mental functions are not completely altered and whose condition requires care for most of the activities of daily life

- or a person whose mental functions are impaired, but who is able to move and who requires constant surveillance

Gir 3

A person who has maintained mental autonomy, partially self-driving autonomy, but who needs bodycare assistance on a daily basis and several times a day

Gir 4

- No one who does not take care of his transfers alone, but who, once raised, can move within his dwelling, and who needs help with toilet and dressing

- or a person who does not have locomotor problems but who needs help with body care and meals

Gir 5

Person who only needs one-time help with toilet, meal preparation and cleaning

Gir 6

Person still autonomous for the essential acts of everyday life

If your health situation requires it, you can request a reassessment of your situation, by letter addressed to the department's services.

Who shall I contact

If you were classified as Gir 5 or Gir 6 on a previous Apa application, and your health now requires a classification in another Gir, you can file a new one allocation request..