Selecting a language will automatically trigger the translation of the page content.

How are the spouses' assets shared after divorce?

Verified 27 November 2020 - Directorate of Legal and Administrative Information (Prime Minister), Ministry of Justice

The division of community property must be ordered by the judge who pronounces the divorce, whatever the matrimonial regime adopted by the spouses. The liquidation of the matrimonial regime allows the community's property to be assessed and distributed among the spouses.

An agreement between the spouses may also determine the division. In this context, the spouses may submit to the Family Court (Jaf) for approval an agreement on the settlement of the consequences of divorce and on the division of property. They can also submit a statement to the Minister that there are no properties to share. In this case, the Jaf will validate their decision.

In the absence of an agreement, the judge may appoint a notary responsible for this division to assess the community's property. The value of the property to be shared must be fixed on the day of the division. Where a property exists, one of the spouses may request that the property be allocated to him: it is a preferential allocation..

The judge may refuse and decide on applications to remain in indivision or preferential allocation.

If it makes the division unequal, the beneficiary spouse of the preferential allocation will have to pay the other one relief.. It may be decided that all the balance due shall be payable in cash or by installment.

Example :

If the woman stays in the house she may have to pay a monthly sum to her ex-husband in compensation.

Comment les biens des époux sont-ils partagés après le divorce ?

Vérifié le 27 novembre 2020 - Direction de l'information légale et administrative (Premier ministre), Ministère chargé de la justice

Le partage des biens de la communauté doit être ordonné par le juge qui prononce le divorce, quel que soit le régime matrimonial adopté par les époux. La liquidation du régime matrimonial permet d'évaluer les biens de la communauté et de les répartir entre les époux.

Une convention entre les époux peut aussi fixer le partage. Dans ce cadre, les époux peuvent soumettre à l'homologation du juge aux affaires familiales (Jaf) une convention sur le règlement des conséquences du divorce et sur le partage des biens. Ils peuvent aussi lui soumettre une déclaration disant qu'il n'y a pas de biens à partager. Dans ce cas, le Jaf validera leur décision.

En l'absence de convention, le juge peut désigner un notaire chargé de ce partage pour évaluer les biens de la communauté. La valeur des biens à partager doit être fixée au jour du partage. Lorsqu'il existe un bien immobilier, l'un des époux peut demander que ce bien lui soit attribué : c'est une attribution préférentielle.

Le juge peut refuser et statuer sur les demandes de maintien dans l'indivision ou d'attribution préférentielle.

Si elle rend le partage inégal, l'époux bénéficiaire de l'attribution préférentielle devra payer à l'autre une soulte. Il peut être décidé que la totalité de la soulte due sera payable comptant ou par un paiement échelonné.

Exemple :

Si la femme reste dans le logement elle peut avoir à payer une somme mensuelle à son ex-mari en compensation.

Cette page vous a t-elle été utile ?