Selecting a language will automatically trigger the translation of the page content.

Parliamentary elections

Verified 20 June 2022 - Legal and Administrative Information Directorate (Prime Minister)

Parliamentary elections are used to elect Members of Parliament. Members of the National Assembly. They are elected by direct universal suffrage by French voters registered on the electoral lists. The voting method is a majority vote with 2 rounds.

In parliamentary elections, voters in France elect members.

You verify your registration on the electoral lists:

Check your election registration and polling station

If you are not already registered, you request.

You can do this throughout the year.

But in an election year, you must meet a deadline (no later than 6e Friday before 1to election round, unless you are in a special situation).

To know:

  • One French who turns 18 is automatically registered on the electoral roll if he has done the citizen census from the age of 16.
  • A person detained in prison is not necessarily deprived of his or her right to vote. But she must register under a specific procedure.
  • One guardianship may no longer be deprived of the right to vote, even if the judge's decision was made before 23 March 2019.

In France

You can vote:

You can verify your polling station and your power of attorney using this online service:

Check your election registration and polling station


the polling station is open from 8am to 6pm.

From foreigner

You can vote:

Members shall be elected by direct universal suffrage, by majority vote in 2 rounds and by constituencies .

Round 1

To be elected on 1to tower, a candidate must obtain:

  • more than 50% of votes cast
  • and not less than 25% the number of registered voters.

If no candidate is elected from 1to tower, one 2d tour is organised a week later.

Round 2

Only some candidates can run on 2d round:

  • The 2 candidates who came out on top
  • The following candidates, provided that they have obtained a number of votes at least equal to 12,5% the number of registered voters.

2d in turn, the candidate who gets the most votes is elected. In the event of a tie, the oldest candidate is elected.

The term of office of the deputies is 5 years (except dissolution of the National Assembly).

The next parliamentary elections will take place in 2027.